Teaching in Nicaragua

Home Forums Ask an expat Teaching in Nicaragua

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 2 years ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I’m a Canadian and am planning a trip to Nicaragua in the spring/early summer of 2015. I want to stay for 3 months, but I am also interested in the possibility of living in the country for an extended period of time (like around a year or so). I know this must sound crazy, but I’m looking for a drastic change and because I have relatives to help me with my visit, I really want to try to set this up long term. Of course, a lot would have to depend on how I could make a decent living in Nicaragua. I’m a Communications professor at a college and I also teach ESL at a private language school so I have experience working with federal workers and foreign diplomats. I also have a Masters in English as well. Could someone with my skills and experience be able to find a good teaching job in Managua, say at a university or private academy? I want to be realistic about all this, but I have heard from family friends who live in Nicaragua that with my background I could find a very good job. Connections would obviously help, but it gives me hope that maybe this isn’t such a crazy idea! I don’t know. What do you guys think?

Thanks!

Anonymous

Listen to your family. Things in Nicaragua are easier with connections. Follow the international teaching recruiters and check it out when you come down. Managua has many, many schools and hires mucho foreigners.

Anonymous

Thanks for the reply! I really appreciate it :) My mother’s cousin was the one to mention that getting a teaching job in Managua with my skills wouldn’t be so far fetched. It seems possible, but things would be a lot easier with the right connections (like everywhere else I guess!).