Is Nicaragua gay-friendly?

Home Forums Ask an expat Is Nicaragua gay-friendly?

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 1 year, 11 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    David Self
    David Self
    Participant

I am a retired U.S. gay male thinking of moving to Managua or Leon in the Fall of 2014. I am a writer and a bit of a loner. I would choose to live in a community with locals/students/working people.

I was disturbed by articles in The Nicaragua Dispatch about the apparent anti-gay attitudes of the government, if not the people directed at the gay hotel owners. I have no interest in the sex trade (unless I could do something help halt it). I do want to make friends of all ages with locals and expats. My concern is for my personal safety; is Nicaragua safe for a gay older man living alone and NOT “sheltered” in an expat community?

Cecilia Espinoza
    Cecilia Espinoza
    Participant