Reply To: Employment Opportunities

Home Forums Ask an expat Employment Opportunities Reply To: Employment Opportunities

Anonymous

I’m nicaraguan, not an expat, but I’d like to give my view

I think the easiest way for a non-hispanic foreigner to get job in this country is as a teacher of their native language. If english is your native language then there might be some opportunities, you can find many english language schools in Nicaragua, the American Nicaraguan School (ANS) has one of the most important and relevant english institute in managua, I studied there and I remember having at least 3 foreign teachers. Although I must say that getting a job as a teacher is by no means guaranteed, since you have a lot of competition from local people and even other foreigners.

If you manage to get a job you must be willing to accept a low paycheck in a small company or startup, chances are you wont begin in a big company (like ANS), most nicaraguan jobs pay under $300 a month, and don’t expect to earn much more as a teacher. You can try a call center like Sitel and Stream (both in managua), though I think they prefer bilingual nicaraguans but if you get a seat then expect to earn around $500 in a job that will requiere you to work 45 hours/week and during night, weekends and hollidays. If you have no problem with a stressfull job then go for it, but IMO $500 might be good for some nicaraguans (not my case) but is not worth it for a foreigner coming from a first world country. You must have in mind that most nicaraguans settle for a low income life, and if you want to become a nicaraguan then be ready to downgrade your lifestyle drastically.