It’s a scary world

nica flag

A recent email communication from a friend in the States arrived the other day letting me know that he, his wife and their two young daughters would be vacationing in Nicaragua and hoped to stop in to see me on their way to the coast. As soon as this news was made available to his friends and family back home the inevitable concerns cropped up. Emails arrived. Nicaragua, are you kidding? Isn’t that place really dangerous? Isn’t there some kind of war going on down there? You’re taking your children there?? Where is Nicaragua anyway?

I swear I don’t usually resort to double punctuation to express complete incredulity so please excuse this one-time infraction. I’ve been a Granada seasonal resident for nearly ten years now and I spend nearly half the year in Nicaragua, so I am already accustomed to the questions, the funny looks, the incredulity that this seems to inspire in others. My friend has traveled before but he did provide a link to the U.S. State Dept. website that family members had sent him alerting travelers to all the varied dangers that lurk beyond the continental United States.

I guess he was hoping to get my perspective and probably some sort of reply to the grave concerns of both parents and in-laws. I clicked on the link and read the traveler advisory for people insane enough to voluntarily leave the U.S. and go to Nicaragua. Pretty scary stuff; the usual compliment of murder, mayhem, rapes and kidnappings. Not a place I’d choose for a winter getaway especially with small children in tow. But wait a minute- I already live here.