American or American’t? What’s in a name?

americant-2

Shakespeare observed that a Rose by any other name would smell just as sweet. So why are we so hung up on words? When I was a boy, to call a person “black” would cause a fight. To be “gay” was to be happy, and an Asian was called an “Oriental.” Back then, Istanbul was Constantinople, Thailand was called Siam, and Iran was Persia. Then again, New York was “New Amsterdam” and Ho Chi Min City was Saigon.

I have always been conscious of language and think of it as far more than a means to communicate; it is a creative tool with which to paint word pictures. I studied semantics at Northwestern University in the United States and have always been fascinated by the power of language. Hyakawa was my idol.

I am a retired executive and ex-mayor from the United States, now living in Catarina, Nicaragua. I am proud to brag that I have my cédula and Nicaraguan Driver’s License, both of which came with great struggle and cost, and were no easy acquisitions. But that’s for another article. I am drinking in my Nicaraguan experience and embracing my new country with much gusto. So I was offended when told recently that I, like most people from the United states, was arrogant to call myself an American. “Don’t you know that everyone from the western hemisphere is an AMERICAN?”, the person chided.

Well first of all, dear attacker, the western hemisphere contains many other countries other than the Americas, although the Americas, as most know, comprise the largest percentage of the land. But that’s not really the point. I only mention it because I was obviously being given a geography lesson as well as a reprimand. I consider arrogance to be one of the most repugnant characteristics in a person, so I was struck to the bone by this criticism. I took it to heart and set out to do something to correct it.