Last call for Bob Tannermille

A short story.

BobSo this shit happened to me like three or five years ago. It started with a jolt of panic that clutched my chest like an iron thunderclap from the angry heavens. No, that sounds stupid. It was more like that feeling you get when you eat peanut butter too fast. What I’m trying to say is that it was more of a lumpy sensation than a hurt. After all, I was sitting about 50 meters away from the accident and didn’t even see it happen.

Still, from my barstool I felt the crash before I heard it. For those of you who don’t know much about science, the discrepancy is due to the differences in speed with which light and sound travel through space, or something like that. I’m not really sure that’s totally accurate because I never studied science, although it interests me, sometimes.

Anyway, it happened fast and I felt the lump in my solar plexus, or perhaps my sternum. I’m not really sure which because I’m not a doctor. Also, my memory isn’t that good. But it nearly made me spill my beer when it happened. I think I even bumped my teeth with my beer bottle, although they seem fine now.

I spun off the barstool and took several stiff-legged steps toward the sun-filled doorway. The morning sun is brutal in Nicaragua, so I didn’t actually go all the way out to the street to inspect the accident. I just sort of stood to the side of the doorway, out of the heat, where I could see, sort of. The white corolla had crashed at a 45-degree angle to the curb. Really it was more like a 52-degree angle, but no one says stuff like that. Anyway, the car had it’s right wheel up on the sidewalk, stopped just before the electrical post. The left front bumper was sticking into the backend of a grayish, or perhaps faded silver, or a tarnished silver, I should say, BMW that was spun halfway through the intersection.